Learning to Slow Down

This year has been one of the most challenging for me due to cancer surgery, treatment, and a case of ongoing pneumonia. I’ve had to learn to slow down and to be patient. In this time of quasi-convalescence, I picked up my needle, thread, and scrap fabric. I’m not a traditional quilter by any means — I have neither the stamina or ability to be so precise — but I’ve made my own creations with a running stitch, much in the style of kawandi by the Siddi women (African descent) of India. Below are some of my creations. I’m thrilled to share that “Mishmash” is on display at the Black Dog Art Gallery (@blackdogartgallery2022) in Tubac, Arizona, and “Reunited” is featured in the international art show by Kunsthaus Rozig.

Left to right,Mishmash” 40″ x 24″, “Flower Garden” SOLD, “Reunited” 32″ x 20″, “Repurposed” 41″ x 24″, “Garden Plot” 30″ x 24″

10 responses to “Learning to Slow Down”

  1. Constance (Connie) Wright Avatar

    I’m sp proud to know you, Rosemary.
    What talent!
    Much love,
    Connie

    Like

    1. Rosemary Rhodes Royston Avatar

      Thank you, Connie! Love to you!

      Like

  2. Jean Healan Avatar
    Jean Healan

    Hi, Rosemary. These are beautiful! Congratulations on having 2 of them on display! That is exciting! I hope 2023 treats you kindly and brings good health! Love, Jean

    Like

    1. Rosemary Rhodes Royston Avatar

      Thank you, Jean!

      Like

  3. Carol Smucker Avatar
    Carol Smucker

    Rosemary, I’m happy to see you are still enjoying “playing with fabric”. I particularly like the two with red in them. You have been having a rough time health-wise. May the coming days be ones of better health. My husband is four weeks post heart surgery. Healing is hard work, but each day is a little better. Love, Carol Smucker

    Like

    1. Rosemary Rhodes Royston Avatar

      Healing to your husband, Carol! Thank you for your kind words!

      Like

  4. aunspaugh1196@windstream.net Avatar
    aunspaugh1196@windstream.net

    Wow, These “cloth collages” are beautiful! Love you….Hugs. d.a.

    Like

    1. Rosemary Rhodes Royston Avatar

      Thank you, Dick! Big love to you!

      Like

  5. Vanessa Avatar

    Therapeutic, artistic, and drenched in history. It doesn’t get much better. I love these. They are gorgeous! ♥

    Like

  6. John Rhodes Avatar
    John Rhodes

    I enjoy your handmade creations.

    Like

Leave a comment

The Luxury of Trees

The poetry and art of Rosemary R. Royston